Are you concerned about getting pulled over because of the dark tint on your car windows in Ohio?
Getting stopped by the police because you did not follow the Ohio tint laws in 2024 is just not worth it. Car window tinting laws were enacted in 2004 so it’s important you are up to date with the latest changes.
The Ohio tint law states that, “violation of the law is considered a minor misdemeanor, with fines up to $100.”
However, that doesn’t mean you can’t still get tinted windows. Read on to find out more about Ohio tint laws and how to avoid getting stopped or fined unnecessarily.
What Is VLT?
The VLT (Visible Light Transmission) is the proportion of light that a window tint film permits to pass through your car windows.
A higher VLT indicates that the window tint film allows more light to pass through. A tint film of 75% allows 75% of the light to pass through it, but a film tint of only 5% allows only 5% of light to pass through, which results in a much darker film.
Each state has distinct legal permitted limits for VLT. So the amount of light allowed to pass through your film and glass will be specific for Ohio. The laws distinguish that each window must have a certain amount of light coming through. For example, the front window tint law in Ohio will be different from how much light is allowed to come through the back windows.
Automotive Tint Laws in Ohio
Here are the latest Ohio tint laws for sedans, SUVs, and vans:
- Front windshield: Allow 70% of the light to pass through
- Front-seat side windows: Allow 50% of the light to pass through, plus or minus 3 percent
- Back-seat side windows: Any amount of darkness is fine
- Rear window: Any amount of darkness is fine